The Process Zine #3

Through a trade with Michal, the maker of the zine, I got the Process  Zine of Final Judgement from Poland. The hc zine is dedicated to Satanism and in particular to the Proces Church of the Final Judgement.

The zine starts with an interview with the Polish tuff guy band Bloodstained. They seem to be nice guys, but I never would be interested to buy their record. Also an interview with Harms Way who also seem to be nice guys and I would be a bit more interested to listen to their stuff. Definitely would check them out if they would do a show in my town. Anyway these interviews seem to be there, because Michal has his roots in hc punk. The thing he really wants to talk about is about Satanism and he tries to bring that up in the interviews, but the bands have not too much to say on this topic.

Hans Verbeke of Liar has surprisingly a lot to tell on Satanism. Liar was one of my favorite H8000 bands. I always more affiliated them with animal rights than the church of Satan. So it was interesting to hear Hans in this interview explain his interest in Satanism. Lately he became the new singer of Holy Terror band Rot In Hell, which he also talks about. Good interview!

The zine also contains several columns and texts on Satanism. “The 11 satanic rules of the earth” by Anton Szandor Lavey himself which is printed in the zine with an explanation are bullshit to me. Too much of a punk for that shit. I don’t want any rules, especially not like “do not give advice unless you are asked” or “do not make sexual advances unless you are given the mating signal”. I’m interested in how LaVey is influenced by Nietzsche and gnostics, but all these crappy symbols, codes, rituals and the idea of establishing a church as an organization is too authorial for me, even if they preach individualism. LaVey also seems a bit too much of a poser too me. He might be an intelligent and nice guy, it just doesn’t attract me.

The Process Church of Final Judgement that is of another level. More the real deal to me, although I’m not that interested in their theology, the story of Process Church, like a story of humanity, is really fascinating. The Process church started in late 60-ties in London as spiritual groups around Marry Anne and Robert DeGrimston doing psychotherapy and within years the group moved to Mexico to live in a commune. A book on Process Church, which this zine also refers to, was released in 2009 and I still want to read that book, which is written by an insider of the early Process church. In the zine also a piece of writing by Robert DeGrimston himself is printed, which is not too interesting for me. I’m more interested in the psychotherapy techniques the group used, undergoing them yourself even would probably be more insightful than reading hundreds of books about the church.

There is also a cool column in the zine on why metal shows suck. He complains about the fact that metal kids use satanic symbols, but don’t refer to sources of satanism. Yeah, a lot metal kids are just  long-haired beer drinking guys with dark evil t-shirts with reverted crosses playing Diablo and read Tolkien. Like in a lot of scenes there is a lot of emphasis on looks, just like punk and hardcore I believe. I mean how many punks with anarchy signs really read Bakunin? Still I agree with him too much fake Satanists in metal. And metal shows often are boring, but then just don’t go!

Great zine, especially if you are into Process Church. You can order it from Michal and I also have some copies available if you are interested. Just drop me a  mail.

2 Responses to “The Process Zine #3”

  1. Can i order à process zine ?

    Thanx

Leave a Reply

