Massive Assault EP

My Diard crew homie Jos released a new EP with his Death Metal band Massive Assault. The EP “Slayer” came out to have a record out with their new line up. Old singer Carl and drummer Gideon came back in the band and Jos switched from vocals to bass guitar. A bit of a pitty, because I liked his attitude as a frontman. I mean which singer of a metal band goes on stage in tight swimming pants or a pink t-shirt? On the other hand a good solution, because he still does backing vocals and the band sounds tighter than ever. Also check out Jos his other wannabee tuff guy metalcore band Dirty East Godverdomme!

Front cover of Slayer EP

The great front cover by Gijs shows a soldier from Platoon. I guess war is a bit the theme of the record. The first song with lyrics by ex-Painbrouwer singer and Afghanistan veteran Jurkie aka kuthippie is about Vietnam and I love what he wrote:

“The battlefield lays behind
wonder what I wil find
when the napalm fire is gone
will the ware be gone

Now I’m at the end

I don’t know what it meant
life used to terrify
and now I’m scared to die
scared to die

Marching the streets (3x)

The streets of dead (3x)

Oh no, the aftermath
the war lingers in my head

Bombs of confusion
dropped on our path
Do not retreat
move straight ahead

Bullets of emotions
are piercing my heart
our war begins
right at the start”

Combined with sick Slayer style riff and brutal vocals it is a killer of a song. The next song with Jos his hardcore style lyrics, the general theme is fuck society, I don’t care what you do and I walk my own path. It is a brutal song with some good mosh riffs. Massive Assault blast all these fake metalcore bands away like Slayer!

Next song Ghostriders is probably favorite, a real fucking anthem with a sick Slayer break in the middle. Sorry that I compare everything with Slayer, but they are the only metal band I sometimes listen to. The fourth song “Genoicide” is a nice dark song with Slayer style lyrics and deep growls! Last song is a live song, but it still sounds tighter and better produced than most bands!

I don’t know that much about metal and don’t listen to it too much, but I definitely know this is just good. No bullshit and pretention just call your record “Slayer” and trash!

2 Responses to “Massive Assault EP”

  1. A "The Axe" Nie Says:

    Supercoole review!

  2. 1 of the best bands making Swedish death metal

Leave a Reply

