Make Tea, Not War!

Last weekend went to my first concerts in Osaka. On Friday I went to see Unit21 and Acrostix in Namba Bears. First band of the night was San Pedro, named after the city where the Minutemen are from I was curious, but then candles were lit, incense was burned on stage and  girls with hippie skirts and make up cam e on stage, I started to doubt… Of course I wrong, like most bands here it was tight and fast! Good stuff.

Next up was Zyanose, a noizy crust band. The concert started by the singer throwing his can of beat in audience. Probably my favorite band I saw this weekend, destructive grindy noise! The singer constantly launches himself into the audience and crawls over the ground  screaming into the microphone. The guitarplayers also jump into the audience, scream along and attack their singer. After 15 minutes the singer walks off stage and the guitar players start singing and falls over the drum kit.

The Unit21 from Texas,  USA came on stage. Good band, fast trash punk and the audience goes wild. After the show I did a cool interviews with the these dudes about touring in Japan. This will appear in the next zine about Japan. Last band was Acrostix, really fast tight crust, reminded me of Tragedy, but that is the only band in that genre I really know. Not really my cup of cha, but still damn good.

Next day I went to a festival in Namba Rockets. I saw a lot of good bands, but will only give a review of the highlights. For the first ever on a show I also made some pictures, but as you will see I]m  quite a shitty photographers.

Tone Deaf, good early eighties hardcore band like Minor Threat, SSD, etc. Next was B side Approach, really tight New York style hardcore like Killing Time and Leeway. They reminded me of New Morality.

P1030032

Next band was Angel OD from Osaka. Great noizy grind hardcore band! The frontman who plays bass constantly launches himself into the audience  and the guitar players do the same, still they keep playing tight. Half way the show some from the audience gets on stage and smashes the microphone standard on the ground and then jumps in the audience and starts moshing. I love these kind of weird spontaneous actions that seem quite normal here. Just like guitar players who grab their mic and start screaming while destructing the whole stage. Everyone who loves grindcore or any other form of extreme fast music should check this band out. They already have released an EP.

P1030044

Low Vision from Tokyo, great harcore with lively stage act. Dude from Justice did their t-shirt and album design.

P1030052

Nanda?!? Next band that I really like and where the crowd was going completely nuts was E X-C. A Japanese tough guy hardcore band with band members with amazing tattoos that looked like yakuza members. Just before I left Holland I saw a concert with Mongoloids, Strength For A Reason and Death Threat and these Japanese bands totally fucking overrule these American mosh bands. Especially in intensity and instrument skills. If their English lyrics were not so poor…. I also love how these guest singers jump on stage, shout their lines and then mosh into the audience. At the end of the show the guitar players jumped into the audience and started moshing, one of them trashed his guitar on the ground. I hope he already was planning on buying a new one…

P1030057

Then something totally different but also really cool Dj Mighty Mars with Dododo. A weird cute Japanes girl in red shirt and black eye make up singing over electro and hiphop beat. Amazing stuff. Audience also goes wild. I hope i can post a video soon, coz it is hard to explain. Great stuff!

Leave a Reply

