Record Stores in Osaka

One of the things I always do when I’m on holiday is visit a record store. It tells a lot about local culture and of course you might find that rare vinyl record that is missing from your collection. Japan is an amazing country for vinyl nerds like me. First of all there are a lot of record stores that sell vinyl and there a lot of Japanese editions of classic records.

Osaka, the city where I spent my 2 months in Japan, has a lot of good recordstores that I already discovered in my first three weeks here. First of all I stumbled on King Kong Records in then Amerika Mura district.

Entrance King Kong

King Kong Record store seems a small, but when you actually walk down the stairs is a big store which sells mostly vinyl. They have a huge Hip Hop and Reggae section, but also have quite some indie, new wave and punk records. They play a lot of cheesy music like I heard Europe’s Final Countdown followed by a Country song and then some weird Japanese Pop. They get away with it, I mean the Final Countdown is classic, and it also suits the chaotic but warm atmosphere of the shop.

Inside King Kong

Further down the first street on the right I found another recordstore in a basement, Timebomb Records. A real clean and organized store divided into two sections, a rockabilly section and indie, new wave, punk and metal side. This side has a special cage with rare collectible records. They had quite some good old hardcore punk records, but they also knew their market value…

cage

Then I went to Maru Kabutsu Record store on the other side of Yotsubashi avenue. This store is somehow affiliated with Alchemy Records (Merzbow, Masonna, Balsac) and is run by a lovely couple.

 

Maru Kabutsu

They have good records for a lot of different styles including a lot experimental music. I found here the rare Whitehouse classic “Dedicated to Peter Kuerten” on green vinyl and a record by Gauze. Although they were reasonable priced I didn’t buy them, maybe I’m going to shoot myself for that later. I’m a bit of a masochist anyway, because I don’t have the money to buy a real rare classic and don’t want the spend the extra kilo’s for my flight back on for example a Japanese edition of London Calling by The Clash for 20 Euros. I had the illusion to find a GISM record for 800 Yen, but hell yeah people know what they are selling…

Gauze

Another area in Osaka where there are a lot of recordstores is south of Namba station into the electronic district Den Den Town. Here are a lot of stores that sell second hand records from Jazz to Rock to Japanese Pop. The other day I found one shop here that had a lot of experimental music. The owner was playing some amazing German Industrial while I was searching for records and I found some cheap records by Stalin. Great shop, but I couldn’t find it again. So I end this post with my other favorite shop in this area, where a client was playing electric guitar.

funhouse

9 Responses to “Record Stores in Osaka”

  1. dance record…

    […]Record Stores in Osaka « Jagged Visions Zine[…]…

  2. andrew berg Says:

    Hello,

    do you by any chance have any contact info for Alchemy records? Thanks in advance,

    Andrew Berg

  3. Jagged Visions Says:

    Hi Andrew,

    This is the weblink of the shop i visited in Osaka. Site is Japanese and I don’t know exactly how shop is related to the label:

    http://www.kt.rim.or.jp/~jojo_h/ar/p_top/index.html

    The mail adress on the site is:
    ams@alchemy.club.ne.jp

    good luck,
    Willem

  4. Francesco Says:

    I’ll go to Osaka next Friday! Can you give me any address?

  5. Jagged Visions Says:

    most of the shops are as explained in Amerika=mura district. Alchemy one is a little bit out, for address you can see their website, at the bottom: http://www.kt.rim.or.jp/~jojo_h/ar/img/marubatushop_map.gif

  6. Thanks a bunch for sharing this with all folks
    you actually recognize what you’re speaking about! Bookmarked.
    Kindly also talk over with my site =). We will have a hyperlink alternate agreement among us

  7. Excellent items from you, man. I have take note your stuff
    previous to and you are simply extremely fantastic.
    I really like what you’ve obtained here, certainly like what you’re saying and the best way by
    which you are saying it. You make it entertaining and you still care for to keep it wise.

    I can’t wait to learn much more from you. This is really a
    tremendous site.

  8. obviously like your web-site but you have to check the spelling on quite a few of your
    posts. Many of them are rife with spelling problems and I to find
    it very bothersome to tell the truth nevertheless I’ll definitely come again again.

  9. Your style is so unique in comparison to other folks I’ve read stuff from.

    Thank you for posting when you’ve got the opportunity, Guess I’ll just book mark this site.

Leave a Reply

